Research interests


Flavio Marsiglia
Director, Southwest Interdisciplinary Research Center (SIRC) & Regent's Professor marsiglia@asu.edu
(602)496-0700

  • Health disparities
  • Drug abuse
  • HIV/AIDS prevention
  • Culturally grounded social work practice with emphasis on Latino cultures


Emilia Martinez-Brawley
Distinguished Community Service Scholar eemb@asu.edu
(602)496-1562

  • Social service delivery in rural areas
  • Intercultural issues and different ways of understanding


Natasha Mendoza
Assistant Professor Tadoza@asu.edu


Jill Messing
Associate Professor Jill.Messing@asu.edu
(602)496-1193

  • Intimate partner violence
  • Risk assessment
  • Evidence based practice
  • The creation and testing of services for victims of intimate partner violence that are delivered in non-traditional formats 


Felicia Mitchell
Assistant Professor felicia.mitchell@asu.edu
  • health and well-being of Indigenous peoples, particularly in relation to health disparities/inequities
  • social and environmental determinants of health, and health policy
  • community-based participatory research
  • cultural competency
  • macro social work practice
  • racial and ethnic diversity in social work education


Maria Napoli
Associate Professor maria.napoli@asu.edu
(602)496-0097

  • Integrative Health
  • Mindfulness
  • Native American wellness
  • Advanced Clinical Practice


Hyunsung Oh
Assistant Professor Hyunsung.Oh@asu.edu
  • Depression
  • Chronic illness and co-morbidity
  • Social relation and self-care behaviors/disease control
  • Patient-centered medical home
  • Federally qualified health centers
  • Active duty military and veterans


Stephanie Lechuga Pena
Assistant Professor stephanie.l.pena@asu.edu
  • academic achievement for children and youth
  • parental engagement
  • concentrated poverty in communities
  • mental health and well-being of children and youth


Lauren Reed
Asst Professor Lauren.A.Reed@asu.edu


Dominique Roe-Sepowitz
Director, Office of Sex Trafficking Intervention Research (STIR) & Associate Professor Dominique.Roe@asu.edu
(602)496-0093

  • Human sex trafficking with juveniles and adults
  • Juvenile delinquency and homicide, arson and domestic violence
  • Mental health treatment with juveniles and adults addressing trauma symptoms and self-esteem
  • Incarcerated women and youth and their traumatic experiences
  • PTSD, self harm/self mutilation
  • Developing new and innovative programs to address the mental health needs of at-risk women


Elizabeth Segal
Professor esegal@asu.edu
(602)496-0053

  • Poverty
  • Social empathy
  • Social inequality
  • Social welfare policy
  • Social justice
  • Impact of policies and programs on disenfranchised populations


Michael Shafer
Director, Center for Applied Behavioral Health Policy & Professor Michael.Shafer@asu.edu
(602)496-1479

  • Effectiveness of telemedicine in training substance abuse counselors;
  • Effectiveness of mental health courts
  • Organizational and patient level mechanisms affecting implementation of Medication Assisted Treatment
  • Implementation or substance abuse treatment services within correctional and child welfare systems


Katie Stalker
Assistant Professor katie.stalker@asu.edu
  • Risk and protective factors associated with youth development
  • Adolescent aggression, prevention and intervention
  • Culturally diverse adolescents


Miguel Vieyra
Asc Dir + Clin Asc Profr MY mvieyra@asu.edu
602-496-1459



Karin Wachter
Assistant Professor Karin.Wachter@asu.edu


Lela Williams
Associate Professor & Tucson Campus Program Coordinator lrw@asu.edu
(520)884-5507

  • Adolescent romantic relationships and teen dating violence
  • Adolescent substance use
  • School-based interventions
  • Parenting adolescents
  • Mexican American youth


James Herbert Williams
School Director and Professor James.H.Williams@asu.edu
  • Child welfare
  • Youth substance abuse prevention
  • Race and gender disparities
  • Mental health services


Qi Wu
Asst Professor Qi.Wu.5@asu.edu


Shiyou Wu
Assistant Professor Shiyou.Wu@asu.edu
  • Social determinants of health among children and youth
  • Social interventions to reduce health disparities 
  • Social Welfare
  • Poverty
  • International Social Work


Paz Zorita
Associate Professor paz.zorita@asu.edu
(602)496-1756

  • Social work education
  • Language and social work
  • Social work ethics

Pages