Home / Content / Social Work PhD students

Social Work PhD students

Michela Bou Ghosn

 

 

  

Michela Bou Ghosn
Michela.Boughosn@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Mental health prevention; Lived experience of depression; Recovery perspective; Latino(a) emotional well-being

Ann Carver

 

 

 

Ann Carver
Ann.Turnlund@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Adoption and foster care practice outcomes; Foster care and adoption policy and program evaluation; Simulation and gaming for culturally competent social work; Racial disparities and social justice; Public speaking and cross-cultural communication

Justine Cheung

 

 

 

Justine Cheung
Justine.Cheung@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Students from foster care in post-secondary education; Developing supportive university programming for students from foster care; Mental health recovery; Child and family resilience

Renee Garbe

 

 

 

Renee Garbe
Renee.Garbe@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Gerontology; Healthcare disparities; Social support; Social networks; Intervention research 

Monica Gutierrez

 

 

 

Mónica Gutierrez
moni.gutierrez@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Application of lean and six sigma techniques in social work service delivery and research; Factors and strategies for engaging fathers in child protection services; Community-based participatory research

Kimberly Hogan

 

 

 

Kimberly Hogan
Kimberly.Hogan@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Sex trafficking intervention research; Homeless and runaway youth; LGBTQ youth and young adults

Andrea Kappas

 

 

  

Andrea Kappas
Andrea.Kappas@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Intimate partner violence; Integrative health; Mindfulness; Health disparities; Evidence-based practice

Elizabeth Kiehne

 

 

 

Elizabeth Kiehne
Elizabeth.Kiehne@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Intergroup relations; Impact of socio-political environment on immigrants; Attitudes toward immigrants; Unauthorized Latino immigration; Positive intergroup contact; White racial identity

Husain Lateef

 

 

 

Husain Lateef
hlateef@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Culturally grounded social work practice with African American children and families; Prevention of risk behaviors among African American adolescents; Development, implementation, and evaluation of African-centered youth interventions; Social work practice and post-conviction law; Culturally grounded social work practice with Muslim children and families

Charlene Poola

 

 

  

Charlene Poola
Charlene.Poola@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Evidence-based practice process; American Indian behavioral health systems; School mental health; Clinical supervision 

Melanie Reyes

 

 

  

Melanie Reyes
Melanie.Reyes@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Online social work education; Global social work; Immigration policy; Refugee resettlement; Child welfare

Kara Thieleman

 

 

 

Kara Thieleman
Kara.Thieleman@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Traumatic loss; Grief; Death/dying; Mindfulness-based approaches: clinicians and intervention for clients

DeShay Thomas

 

 

  

DeShay Thomas
Deshay.Thomas@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Behavioral health disparities, particularly in ethnic, gender and sexual minority communities; Social-cultural ideologies and help-seeking processes; Multicultural feminist perspectives in health disparities research 

Anthony Thornton

 

 

 

Anthony Thornton
agthornt@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Child welfare and well-being; Foster care direct practice interventions and outcomes; Mitigating the social-emotional risk factors associated with trauma; Insecure attachments; Adverse childhood experiences

Cindy Vang

 

 

 

Cindy Vang
Cindy.Vang@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Gerontology, particularly aging in place; Sociocultural factors that impact mental health outcomes, specifically among older Southeast Asian refugees and immigrants; Culturally competent mental health promotion and practices in community-based settings

Allison Ward-Lasher

 

  

 

Allison Ward-Lasher
Allison.Ward@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Intimate partner violence; Victim advocacy; Criminal justice response to intimate partner violence; Social work collaboration with the criminal justice system; Social work intervention for intimate partner violence; Intimate partner homicide; Violence prevention