Home / Content / Social Work PhD students

Social Work PhD students

Michela Bou Ghosn

 

 

 

 

 

  

Michela Bou Ghosn
Michela.Boughosn@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Mental health prevention; Lived experience of depression; Recovery perspective; Latino(a) emotional well-being

 

 

Ann Carver

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Ann Carver
Ann.Turnlund@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Adoption and foster care practice outcomes; Foster care and adoption policy and program evaluation; Simulation and gaming for culturally competent social work; Racial disparities and social justice; Public speaking and cross-cultural communication

 

 

Renee Garbe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Renee Garbe
Renee.Garbe@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Gerontology; Healthcare disparities; Social support; Social networks; Intervention research 

 

 

Molly Gebler
Molly.Gebler@asu.edu 
URL to directory page

 

 

 

Mónica Gutierrez
moni.gutierrez@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Application of lean and six sigma techniques in social work service delivery and research; Factors and strategies for engaging fathers in child protection services; Community-based participatory research

 

 

Kimberly Hogan

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kimberly Hogan
Kimberly.Hogan@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Sex trafficking intervention research; Homeless and runaway youth; LGBTQ youth and young adults

 

 

Nidia Hernandez
nherna34@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Graduage Research Assistant - Center for Applied Behavioral Health Policy

 

 

Trey Jenkins

Research interests: I am interested in recovery and the broad spectrum of recovery services, specifically, I am interested in understanding the ways in which marginalized people and communities maintain recovery and heal.  


 

 

Andrea Kappas-Mazzio
Andrea.Kappas@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Intimate partner violence; Integrative health; Mindfulness; Health disparities; Evidence-based practice

 

 

Laura E Law

Research interests: I’m interested in using participatory methods to engage in research related to equitable community development. My specific issues of interest include meaningful workforce opportunities for people with multiple barriers, homelessness and housing, and climate change and its disproportionate effects on historically marginalized communities.

 

Charlene Poola

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Charlene Poola
Charlene.Poola@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Evidence-based practice process; American Indian behavioral health systems; School mental health; Clinical supervision 

 

 


 

Melanie Reyes
Melanie.Reyes@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Online social work education; Global social work; Immigration policy; Refugee resettlement; Child welfare

 

DeShay Thomas

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

DeShay Thomas
Deshay.Thomas@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Behavioral health disparities, particularly in ethnic, gender and sexual minority communities; Social-cultural ideologies and help-seeking processes; Multicultural feminist perspectives in health disparities research 

 

 

Emily Saeteurn
Emily.Rian@asu.edu

 

 

Anthony Thornton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anthony Thornton
agthornt@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Child welfare and well-being; Foster care direct practice interventions and outcomes; Mitigating the social-emotional risk factors associated with trauma; Insecure attachments; Adverse childhood experiences

 

 

Kalah Villagrana
Kalah.Villagrana@asu.edu
URL to directory page

Her research interests are related to child welfare, educational well-being, interprofessional collaboration and cross-system collaboration. Kalah is currently the Research Coordinator for the ASU Child Welfare Education Program.