Social Work PhD Students

RESEARCH FOCUS
Nicole Janich
Nicole.Janich@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Organizational development and change in behavioral health and criminal justice settings
  • Elements of successful program implementation
  • Integrated care effectiveness in behavioral health settings
  • Service coordination between behavioral health, criminal justice, and medical settings
Andrea Kappas
Andrea.Kappas@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Intimate partner violence 
  • Integrative health 
  • Mindfulness 
  • Health disparities 
  • Evidence-based practice
Cara Kelly
cara.kelly@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Child maltreatment prevention and intervention
  • Child protective service risk and safety assessments
  • Predictive analytics in child welfare practice
  • Trauma informed care
  • Outcome measurements for children and family services
  • Quantitative methodology
Elizabeth Kiehne
Elizabeth.Kiehne@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Intergroup relations
  • Impact of socio-political environment on immigrants
  • Attitudes toward immigrants
  • Unauthorized Latino immigration
  • Positive intergroup contact
  • White racial identity
Husain Lateef
hlateef@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Culturally grounded social work practice with African American children and families
  • Prevention of risk behaviors among African American adolescents
  • Development, implementation, and evaluation of African-centered youth interventions
  • Social work practice and post-conviction law
  • Culturally grounded social work practice with Muslim children and families
Charlene Poola
Charlene.Poola@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Evidence-based practice process
  • American Indian behavioral health systems
  • School mental health 
  • Clinical supervision
Melanie Reyes
Melanie.Reyes@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Online social work education
  • Global social work
  • Immigration policy
  • Refugee resettlement
  • Child welfare
Kara Thieleman
Kara.Thieleman@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Traumatic loss 
  • Grief
  • Death/dying
  • Mindfulness-based approaches: clinicians and ntervention for clients
 
DeShay Thomas
Deshay.Thomas@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Behavioral health disparities, particularly in ethnic, gender and sexual minority communities
  • Social-cultural ideologies and help-seeking processes
  • Multicultural feminist perspectives in health disparities research
Cindy Vang
Cindy.Vang@asu.edu
URL to directory page
  • Gerontology
  • Aging in place
  • Health disparities
  • Refugees
  • Southeast Asians